top of page

#LaurierVotes kicks off with open forum

The first 2017 #LaurierVotes election event was held last Thursday in the Research and Academic Centre West Lobby.

The Brantford Open Forum allowed candidates for Students’ Union and Wilfrid Laurier University Student Publications to share their platforms and answer questions from students in person or via Twitter.

Klaudia Wojtanowski, a second year business student from Mississauga, hopes to land a spot on the Students’ Union Board of Directors. She considered running last year, but decided to become a Residence Life Don first.

“I think at that point, I wanted to be more fluid in the Laurier culture, Laurier language and know more about the school in general before stepping into that role,” says Wojtanowski. “This year, the option came up again and I’m really excited to pursue this opportunity.”

Wojtanowski believes the two of the biggest aspects as a member of Board of Directors are being a good listener and teamwork.

“Yes, we are competing in a way for the vote of undergraduate students. But, at the end of the day, we are also working together because the Students’ Union is a group and team effort,” says Wojtanowski.

Third year criminology student from Burlington, Michael Del Bono, is also running for the Board of Directors.

“It’s a double-whammy,” says Del Bono. “You get to continue that professional growth the Union has always provided, but at the same time, you get to give back.”

Del Bono says he feels obligated to give back because he believes the Students’ Union has done a lot more for him than he’s done for it.

“The difference between high school Michael and third year Michael is crazy. If it wasn’t for all the opportunities given here, I honestly don’t know where I would be. It’s cliché, I know,” says Del Bono.

Kanwar Brar, a fourth year political science student from Brampton, is the sole candidate for the Students’ Union President and CEO. He credits his involvement with the Students’ Union and his work outside of the Union as the reason he is running.

“Through my four years and those very diverse amount of experiences, I’ve gained a very holistic perspective on the student experience,” says Brar. “I think I have a really fresh perspective about how to do things and that’s evident in my platform and a lot of the initiatives I want to achieve.”

Even though he is the only presidential candidate, Brar is not taking a win for granted.

“I think a lot of students think I’m automatically acclaimed or that I get the position. People still have the option to vote no if they want to. It’s not that they are stuck with me because that isn’t the case, and I really want to emphasize that,” says Brar.

His slogan, #YesWeKan, originates from a conversation in his first year. While he was an executive on First Year Project, one of Brar’s coordinators suggested that he could take Barack Obama’s slogan “Yes We Can” and replace the C with a K for Kanwar.

“At that time, we just laughed it off,” says Brar. “The first time I [used the slogan], it was a trial and error to see how it would resonate with students, but it was a seller.”

All three candidates urged the importance of voting January 24 until January 26.

“I think that’s the coolest part, you’re really elected by the people that think you are the best person for that role,” says Wojtanowski. “I’m getting shivers just thinking about it.”

“It is the democratic practice that makes the Union what it is,” says Del Bono. “It’s in my motto; you’re the voice. All you have to make a noise and make it clear.”

Check out a live blog of the open forum below:

About Newsroom

Newsroom contains published 

multimedia news stories written by Shannon for her master's capstone project and her third year undergraduate class, Integrated Newsroom.

Follow Shannon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon
bottom of page